• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Healing from Past Wounds: Embracing Non-Binary Identity and Family Connections

Strange

Not Active
This post will be admittedly a little choppy and cliche. I’m currently feeling like a mix of a wise adult, angry teen boy and a hurt & confused little girl. These feelings are actually not very current as they have been a norm since I came out to myself several months back. The joy is I feel confident in adding “he/him” to my “they/them” and it didn’t surprise me it took 42 years, based on my experiences & what I gathered from life.

My background is my dad & I were the “mentally ill” folks in my immediate family, with the exact same diagnoses of Major Depression, General Anxiety and Panic Attacks. We also look almost exactly alike, like to joke around & show off a little as well as tend to be sensitive & observant types. A main difference is my dad is very into being in charge in some ways, was a manager as a career and also seems to get a lot of esteem from providing — example: we have a family plan for phones and my brother in laws are even on it under him, etc.

If you couldn’t already gather — I also looked up to my dad. A lot. Many of my stories as a kid were around the funny things he would do and just his dry “dad jokes” still get me.